How to Create a Folder in Dropbox

Creating folders in Dropbox is a great way to keep your files organized. You can even pin folders to the top of Dropbox and share all of the files within that folder. Here’s how to create a folder in Dropbox.

How to Create a Folder in Dropbox

Step 1: Open Dropbox and Sign in if you’re not already

Step 2: Click Files on the left hand side

Dropbox Files Link

Step 3: Click New folder on far right hand side

Dropbox Create New Folder

If you’re on a device with a smaller screen, this option will be in the 3 dots to the right of Overview

Dropbox Options Button on Mobile

Step 4: In the Create folder window, type a name for the folder and choose whether this will be a shared or private folder

Choose Only you if you’re not sure. You can change this setting later.

Dropbox Create Folder Window

Step 5: Click the Create button

How to Delete a Folder in Dropbox

Step 1: Open Dropbox and Sign in

Step 2: Click Files on the left hand side

Dropbox Files Link

Step 3: Locate the folder you wish to delete and click the 3 dots to the right of it

Dropbox Folder Options Button

Step 4: Select Delete

Dropbox Delete Folder

Step 5: Click Delete on the confirmation popup

How to Pin The Folder to the Top

Step 1: Open Dropbox and Sign in

Step 2: Click Files on the left hand side

Dropbox Files Link

Step 3: Locate the folder you wish to pin to the top and click the 3 dots to the right of it

Dropbox Folder Options Button

Step 4: Select Pin to Dropbox

Pin Folder to Dropbox

The folder should now appear at the very top of Dropbox.

Dropbox Folder Pinned to Top

How to Share an Existing Folder

Step 1: Open Dropbox and Sign in

Step 2: Click Files on the left hand side

Dropbox Files Link

Step 3: Locate the folder you wish to share

Dropbox Folder Options Button

Step 4: Select Share

Step 5: In the Share window, select the email addresses you wish to share with, choose whether they can edit or view, and then click the Share button

Dropbox Share Folder Share Options

Make sure that you change the permissions option to Can view if needed as Dropbox defaults to Can edit.

Leave a Comment